View the original community article here
Last tested: Jan 2019
Roles will be overwritten for a user any time that user logs in with [SAML/LDAP]. So while it's technically possible to manually assign some roles while the user is currently logged in, those changes will be wiped each time the user logs in.
This content is subject to limited support.